Adult adoptees in Louisiana do not have access to their own original birth certificates, except by court order. An adult adoptee in Louisiana must demonstrate “compelling reasons” for a court to order release of an original birth certificate.
Adult adoptees in Kentucky do not have unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. A court order is required.
Adult adoptees in Kansas have always had unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. Court records in adoption proceedings are also available to adoptees upon request.
Adult adoptees in Iowa do not have a right to obtain their own original birth certificates. It takes a court order to release any information.
Delaware law denies adult adoptees unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. While adoptees 21 years of age or older may request their original birth certificates, birth parents may legally veto release of OBCs.
Only adult adoptees whose adoptions were finalized after October 1, 1983, have unrestricted access to their birth certificates. All other adult adoptees must obtain a court order—contingent upon the consent or death of birth parents— to obtain their original birth certificates.
After years of legislation that has often been confusing and included birthparent vetoes, it is believed that Colorado now provides adult adoptees with unrestricted access to their original birth certificates through the Colorado Department of Health and Environment.
Adult adoptees in Arkansas do not currently have an unrestricted right to obtain their own original birth certificates, except by court order. A new law, effective August 1, 2018, will change this, but requests by an adult adoptee 21 years or over will be subject to birthparent redaction. In addition, the cost to request the “adoption file” will be $100.
Arizona does not provide adult adoptees unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. Release of an OBC requires a court order.
Alabama law provides adult adoptees with unrestricted rights to their own original birth certificates, beginning at age 19. This law restored a right that had existed until 1991.