Indiana does not recognize adult adoptees’ unrestricted right to obtain their own original birth certificate. While a new law expands the release of “identifying information,” which includes an OBC, a birthparent may prohibit release of that information at any time.
IIllinois denies the unrestricted right of all adult adoptees to obtain their own original birth certificates. It uses a date-based approach and allows redactions.
Wyoming does not provide adult adoptees unrestricted access to their original birth certificates. It takes a court order for release of an OBC, and there are no specific standards or procedures outlined for seeking such an order.
Wisconsin law does not provide adult adoptees unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. Wisconsin “impounds” original birth certificates after adoptions and releases them only by court order or through Wisconsin’s Adoption Records Search Program.
West Virginia denies adult adoptees the unrestricted right to obtain their own original birth certificates upon request. A court order, requiring good cause, is required before the release of an OBC.
Washington does not allow adult adoptees unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. An OBC is available through the Department of Health but release is subject to birth parent disclosure vetoes as well as to corrupt contact preference forms.
Virginia does not provide adult adoptees an unrestricted right to request and obtain their own original birth certificates. Release of an OBC requires either a) a state agency’s decision, upon good cause shown, to release identifying information from the adoption records; or b) a court order upon good cause shown.
Vermont does not allow adult adoptees unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. Access may be obtained through a probate court order or by adoptees who are at least 18 years of age and who have already obtained identifying information from Vermont’s Adoption Registry.
Utah does not allow adult adoptees access to their own original birth certificates, except by court order. A petition for release must show good cause in order for the court to unseal the original birth certificate.
Nearly all adoptees in Tennessee who are 21 years of age have unrestricted access to their their “adoption records,” which should include original birth certificates. The only exception to unrestricted access is for an adult adoptee whose birth parent was a victim of rape or incest—in such cases the written consent of the birth parent is required for release of records.