Adult adoptees in Alaska have an unrestricted right to obtain their own original birth certificates. The adoptee must be 18 years of age in order to request a non-certified copy of the original birth certificate. Upon request, Alaska also provides adult adoptees with descriptive information about their birth parents and biological siblings.
Relevant Alaska Law: Original Birth Certificate
Sec. 18.50.220. New certificate of birth
(a) The state registrar shall establish a new certificate of birth for a person born in the state, upon proper request that the certificate be made, and upon receipt of
(1) an adoption report as provided in AS 18.50.210, or a certified copy of the decree of adoption from a court of competent jurisdiction in another state, together with the information necessary to identify the original certificate of birth and to establish the new certificate of birth; however, a new certificate of birth may not be established if so requested by the court decreeing the adoption, the adoptive parents, or the adopted person if the adopted person is of legal age; or
(2) the evidence required by law and regulation proving that the person has been legitimated.
(b) When a new certificate of birth is established, the actual place and date of birth shall be shown. The new certificate shall be substituted for the original certificate of birth, and
(1) thereafter, in the case of an adoption, the original certificate and the evidence of adoption are not subject to inspection except as provided in AS 18.50.500 – 18.50.510 or by order of the superior court under AS 25.23.150, but the state registrar shall allow inspection by an agent of the state or federal government acting in the performance of the agent’s official duties; in the case of a legitimation, the original certificate and the evidence of legitimation are not subject to inspection except upon order of the superior court or as provided by regulation; however, the regulation shall allow inspection by an agent of the state or federal government acting in the performance of the agent’s official duties;
(2) upon receipt of a report that an adoption has been vacated, the original certificate of birth shall be restored to its place in the files and the new certificate and evidence are not subject to inspection except upon order of a superior court.
(c) If no certificate of birth is on file for the person for whom a new certificate is to be established under this section, a delayed certificate of birth shall be filed with the bureau as provided in this chapter before a new certificate of birth may be established.
(d) When a new certificate of birth is established by the state registrar, the state registrar shall direct the disposition of and substitution for all copies of the original certificate of birth in the custody of a local registrar of vital statistics or other local custodian of the records. When an adoption has been vacated, the state registrar shall instruct the local officials as to a necessary action.
Sec. 18.50.500. Identity of biological parents
(a) After receiving a request by an adopted person 18 years of age or older for the identity of a biological parent of the person, the state registrar shall provide the person with an uncertified copy of the person’s original birth certificate and any change in the biological parent’s name or address attached to the certificate.
(b) The state registrar may not disclose the name and address of a biological parent, except as required under (a) of this section or by the court under AS 25.23.150.
(c) An adopted person 18 years of age or older, or a biological parent, may submit to the state registrar a notice of change of name or address. The state registrar shall attach the information to the original birth certificate of the adopted person.
(d) The state registrar shall disclose to a biological parent, at that parent’s request, the most current name and address of an adopted child that appear in the state registrar’s adoption files if the child is 18 years of age or older and has requested in writing that the information be disclosed if ever requested by the biological parent.
Sec. 18.50.510. Descriptive information regarding biological parents
(a) The state registrar shall, at the request of an adoptive parent or of an adopted person 18 years of age or older, release the following information regarding a biological parent named on the original birth certificate of the adopted person if available from the registrar’s adoption records:
(1) the age of the biological parent on the day the adopted person was born;
(2) the heritage of the biological parent, to include
(A) national origin;
(B) ethnic background; and
(C) tribal membership;
(3) the medical history of the biological parent and of blood relatives of the biological parent;
(4) the number of years of school completed by the biological parent by the day the adopted person was born;
(5) a physical description of the biological parent on the day the adopted person was born, including height, weight, and color of hair, eyes, and skin;
(6) the existence of other children of the biological parent;
(7) whether the biological parent was alive at the time of adoption;
(8) the religion of the biological parent; and
(9) other information provided by the biological parent for disclosure to the child, which may include such items as photographs, letters, and a statement explaining the reasons for the adoption.
(b) Information released under (a) of this section shall be on a standard form prepared by the commissioner. The information may not include the name of a biological parent or other information not listed in (a) of this section.