Nearly all adoptees in Tennessee who are 21 years of age have unrestricted access to their their “adoption records,” which should include original birth certificates. The only exception to unrestricted access is for an adult adoptee whose birth parent was a victim of rape or incest—in such cases the written consent of the birth parent is required for release of records.
Texas law does not provide adult adoptees unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. An adult adoptee must petition the court in which the adoption occurred for release of an OBC, though adoptees who are at least 18 years of age may obtain a non-certified copy of their OBC if they already know the names of their birth parents.
Adult adoptees in South Dakota do not have access to their original birth certificates except by court order. It is believed, however, that most court petitions for release of an OBC in South Dakota are successful.
South Carolina does not give adult adoptees unrestricted access to their original birth certificates. It’s actually unclear how the state may respond to requests for access. Pending legislation in 2017 is seeking to amend the law to allow unrestricted access.
Adult adoptees in Rhode Island have unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. You must be 25 years of age to request an OBC.
Pennsylvania denies adult adoptees unrestricted access to their original birth certificates. The state allows birthparents to request redaction of their names from the original birth certificate.
Adoptees in Oregon who are at least 21 years of age have an unrestricted right to access their original birth certificates. A birth parent may file a contact preference form but it has no effect or restriction on the right of adult adoptees to receive their OBCs.
While Ohio law has settled down a bit after legislative reforms in 2013, significant legal restrictions remain for adult adoptees seeking their OBCs. The state has redaction provisions, diclosure vetoes, and a tiered-system of access that breaks down adoptee rights by the date of adoption.
North Carolina law denies adult adoptees unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. A court order is required for the release of any identifying information, including an OBC.
North Dakota does not provide adult adoptees unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. Release of an original birth certificate requires a court order.