Nebraska OBC law is remarkably complex and confusing. Generally, access depends on the date of an adoptee’s relinquishment and also whether a birth parent—and sometimes even an adoptive parent—has filed a “nonconsent” form objecting to OBC release.
Montana law does not provide adult adoptees with unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. Access largely depends upon the date of adoption and whether a birth parent requests that a court order be required before releasing the OBC.
Missouri law does not give adult adoptees unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. A new law, effective January 1, 2018, provides access to an original birth certificate subject to significant restrictions, including birthparent vetoes and redactions.
Michigan is a donut hole state. It divides access to original birth certificates by date of birth, with those born between 1945 and 1980 the big losers. Find out more about Michigan’s complicated and deeply flawed system.
Massachusetts law denies adult adoptees who were born between 1974 and 2008 their own original birth certificates. Everyone else born in Massachusetts has unrestricted access to their original birth certificates.
Since 1937, Maryland has denied adult adoptees unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. OBCs are currently available only by court order. Adoptees who are at least 21 years of age and whose adoptions were finalized on or after January 1, 2000, may request their original birth certificates. Birth parents, however, may at any time veto disclosure of birth records or identifying information.
Only adult adoptees whose adoptions were finalized after October 1, 1983, have unrestricted access to their birth certificates. All other adult adoptees must obtain a court order—contingent upon the consent or death of birth parents— to obtain their original birth certificates.
Delaware law denies adult adoptees unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. While adoptees 21 years of age or older may request their original birth certificates, birth parents may legally veto release of OBCs.
Adult adoptees in Arkansas do not currently have an unrestricted right to obtain their own original birth certificates, except by court order. A new law, effective August 1, 2018, will change this, but requests by an adult adoptee 21 years or over will be subject to birthparent redaction. In addition, the cost to request the “adoption file” will be $100.
Adult adoptees in Hawaii have unrestricted access to their court adoption records, which typically include original birth certificates. Access to the court record is provided upon request to an adoptee who is 18 years of age or older.