Adult adoptees in Rhode Island have unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. You must be 25 years of age to request an OBC.
Adoptees in Oregon who are at least 21 years of age have an unrestricted right to access their original birth certificates. A birth parent may file a contact preference form but it has no effect or restriction on the right of adult adoptees to receive their OBCs.
New Jersey is best described as a “fixed” partial restriction state. Because of disclosure vetoes, approximately 550 adult adoptees do not have access to their own original birth certificates, except by court order. All other adult adoptees in New Jersey have unrestricted access.
New Hampshire law gives adoptees who are at least 18 years of age unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. The state also allows birth parents to file a contact preference form and/or health history questionnaire, neither of which will restrict the right of adult adoptees to obtain their OBCs.
Adult adoptees in Maine have unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates. Adoptees must be 18 years of age before requesting their OBCs. Maine allows a birth parent to file a contact preference and medical history form, which is attached to the original birth certificate.
Adult adoptees in Arkansas do not currently have access to their own original birth certificates, except by court order. A new law, not yet effective, will change this and allow access, but requests by an adult adoptee will be subject to birth parent redaction and contact vetoes.
After the most recent legislation, however, it is believed that all adoptees who are at least 18 years of age may apply for and receive a non-certified copy of their original birth certificate through the Colorado Department of Health and Environment.
Alabama law gives adult adoptees unrestricted access to their own original birth certificates, beginning at age 19. This has been state law since 1992.